a poem to you


hi,

we met under strange

quite, the strangest circumstances

and it was up to us to quit or not

but you did, and I didn’t

because I knew what I felt was real

it isn’t temporary

it isn’t fleeting

it isn’t everything

you thought it would be

oh, were you so wrong

why don’t you quit it

start

somewhere else

far from here

and wake up to the sound of the wind

blowing right into your ears

shouting words of advice

to meddle with your fantasies

and give me a chance

you might think you’re the holy ghost

but you won’t be, unless

you let me be

let me smell the flowers

let me savor the sunrises

let me bask in the glory of the moon

let me sleep

let me breathe

let me go

how can love be enough,

if it’s the only thing

keeping you from growing

?

Leave a comment